My Memory About Cacao Trees

By an unknown reason, it just came to me and I felt that it is something I should express today and so I am sharing it with you. It was about the cacao trees.

My mind plummeted back to when I was still a seven year old kid; to a memory where I was under some cacao trees which made a canopy above adjoined mixes of bamboo steels and cassava crops. I remember happiness would build up inside me as I perched under one of the cacao trees in that yard while waiting for my friends or playmates to come into view, running and with their hands clutching a basket of food.

The yard looks like this but the trees aren't as aligned as the one in the picture.
The yard looks like this but the trees aren’t as aligned as the one in the picture.

I remember it was a lonely dwelling located far from the houses in the neighborhood which was huddled close to another forest-like habitat. I remember I used to frequent the place alone or with some friends where the cacao trees really predominantly thrived, bore good fruits and where we, kids, used to hoard in a basket, tore the deep-red pods open, took out the soft, white seeds, and chewed it delectably in our mouths. 

The cacao fruit up close.
The cacao fruit up close.
Inside a cacao fruit.
Inside a cacao fruit.

I thought I have lived there ever since. There was something unspeakable or enchanting about being under those cacao trees like it was a place that became my zone for mutual comfort.

It is just today that the memory of it made me feel nostalgic and I thought I should let it out…

Leave a Reply

